Select Page

The Fresno County Democratic Central Committee has not endorsed any candidate in this race.



For Immediate Release

October 9, 2017
Contact: Dave Jacobson, (818) 943-2348
Maclen Zilber, (510) 508-9142
Jacobson & Zilber Strategies

Latest Wave of Support Drives Fresh Dose of Momentum into Senator Ricardo Lara’s Campaign for California State Insurance Commissioner


LONG BEACH, CA — Continuing to pick up steam and assemble a wide-ranging coalition of support as he seeks the office of California State Insurance Commissioner, today State Senator Ricardo Lara’s campaign lined up endorsements from 20 state lawmakers. The leaders join the 22 sitting State Senators who previously endorsed, as well as 12 sitting State Assembly Members who also had already announced their backing of Senator Lara’s statewide bid.

Those endorsing Senator Lara today include:

  1. State Assembly Member Freddie Rodriguez
  2. State Assembly Member David Chiu
  3. State Assembly Member Ash Kalra
  4. State Assembly Member Monique Limon
  5. State Assembly Member Jim Frazier
  6. State Assembly Member Kansen Chu
  7. State Assembly Member Ed Chau
  8. State Assembly Member Chris Holden
  9. State Assembly Member Joaquin Arambula
  10. State Assembly Member Jim Cooper
  11. State Assembly Member Jose Medina
  12. State Assembly Member Eloise Reyes
  13. State Assembly Member Susan Talamantes Eggman
  14. State Assembly Member Phil Ting
  15. State Assembly Member Kevin Mullin
  16. State Assembly Member Raul Bocanegra
  17. State Assembly Member Rudy Salas
  18. State Assembly Member Autumn Burke
  19. State Assembly Member Bill Quirk
  20. State Assembly Member Sebastian Ridley-Thomas


Upon making the above list of endorsements public, Senator Lara released the following statement:

“While Washington continues it’s perverse and divisive agenda, we here in the Golden State have led the resistance by working to keep Californians in control of our lives and our future. We’ve advanced progressive laws that protect working people, immigrants, our environment, our schools and more. Further, our state and our leaders have been on the forefront of the battle against Donald Trump and his extremist allies in Congress. I’m proud of the work we’ve accomplished together, which is why I’m thrilled to have the support of so many of my state colleagues. I am eager to continue partnering with them to protect our people, our California values and our California way of life.”
To view Senator Ricardo Lara’s digital video ad, “Embolden,” click on the screen shot below:

Since the inception of his campaign for California State Insurance Commissioner, State Senator Ricardo Lara has amassed wide-ranging support from leaders and organizations, including:

Elected & Community Leaders

  • United States Senator Kamala Harris
  • U.S. Congresswoman and State Assembly Speaker Emeritus Karen Bass
  • U.S. Congressman Salud Carbajal
  • U.S. Congressman Ted Lieu
  • U.S. Congressman Alan Lowenthal
  • U.S. Congressman Jimmy Gomez
  • U.S. Congresswoman (Ret.) and current L.A. County Supervisor Janice Hahn
  • State Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León
  • State Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
  • California State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
  • California Board of Equalization Member Fiona Ma
  • State Assembly Speaker Emeritus and State Senator Toni Atkins
  • State Assembly Speaker Emeritus and State Senator Robert Hertzberg
  • State Assembly Speaker Emeritus Fabian Nunez
  • State Assembly Speaker Emeritus John A. Pérez
  • State Senator Dr. Ed Hernandez
  • State Senator Holly Mitchell
  • State Senator Ben Hueso
  • State Senator Tony Mendoza
  • State Senator Scott Wiener
  • State Senator Steven Bradford
  • State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
  • State Senator Nancy Skinner
  • State Senator Ben Allen
  • State Senator Bill Monning
  • State Senator Henry Stern
  • State Senator Josh Newman
  • State Senator Cathleen Galgiani
  • State Senator Bill Dodd
  • State Senator Richard Roth
  • State Senator Jerry Hill
  • State Senator Bob Wieckowski
  • State Senator Mike McGuire
  • State Senator Anthony Portantino
  • State Senator Mark Leno (Ret.)
  • State Assembly Member Miguel Santiago
  • State Assembly Member Blanca Rubio
  • State Assembly Member Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher
  • State Assembly Member Todd Gloria
  • State Assembly Member Eduardo Garcia
  • State Assembly Member Jacqui Irwin
  • State Assembly Member Evan Low
  • State Assembly Member Tony Thurmond
  • State Assembly Member Shirley Weber
  • State Assembly Member Kevin McCarty
  • State Assembly Member Reggie Jones-Sawyer
  • State Assembly Member Susan Bonilla (Ret.)
  • Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
  • Sacramento Mayor and former State Senate President pro Tempore Darrell Steinberg
  • San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee
  • Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia
  • California Democratic Party First Vice Chair Alex Rooker
  • California Young Democrats’ President Eddie Kirby
  • San Diego Democratic Party Chair (Ret.) and current Democratic National Committee Member, Jesse Durfee

Organizations Representing Working People

  • State Council of Building and Construction Trades Council of California
  • California State Association of Electrical Workers
  • Los Angeles/Orange Counties Building and Construction Trades Council
  • California Nurses Association/National Nurses United
  • California State Council of Laborers
  • California Conference of Machinists
  • California State Council of Pipe Trades
  • National Union of Healthcare Workers
  • United Steelworkers Legislative Education Committee for Los Angeles and Orange Counties
  • International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT) District Council 36
  • International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT) District Council 16
  • United Industrial Workers of the Seafarers International Union, SIUNA, AFL-CIO
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 11
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 40
  • Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 1277
  • American Federation of Musicians Local 47
  • United Union of Roofers, Waterproofers and Allied Workers Local 36


  • California Latino Legislative Caucus
  • Equality California (EQCA)

For more information please visit